Back to All Events

Paddy Hirsch: Hudson's Kill

  • Solid State Books 600 H Street Northeast Washington, DC, 20002 United States (map)

in conversation with John Copenhaver author of Dodging and Burning

Hudsons Kill.jpg

the second riveting historical thriller for fans of Caleb Carr and Erik Larsen from NPR reporter & producer Paddy Hirsch, author of The Devil's Half Mile.

New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer. They each find their way to a shadowy community on the fringes of the growing city, where they uncover a craven political conspiracy bound up with a criminal enterprise that is stunning in its depravity. Justy and Kerry have to fight to save themselves and the city, and only then can they bring the girl’s killer to justice.

DODGING AND BURNING.jpg

In a small Virginia town still reeling from World War II, a photograph of a beautiful murdered woman propels three young people into the middle of a far-reaching mystery.

A lurid crime scene photo of a beautiful woman arrives on mystery writer Bunny Prescott's doorstep with no return address—and it's not the first time she's seen it. The reemergence of the photo, taken fifty-five years earlier, sets her on a journey to reconstruct the vicious summer that changed her life.


This event is free and open for all to attend!