Back to All Events

Angie Cruz: Dominicana

  • Solid State Books 600 H Street Northeast Washington, DC, 20002 United States (map)

Join us for a special edition of Lit on H St Book Club featuring Angie Cruz! She'll be discussing her novel Dominicana with book club leader Lupita Reads (Lupita Aquino) and contributor Debbie from @debbiesbooknook.

LIT 919.jpg

In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author's mother

Fifteen-year-old Ana Cancion never dreamed of moving to America, the way the girls she grew up with in the Dominican countryside did. But when Juan Ruiz proposes and promises to take her to New York City, she has to say yes. It doesn’t matter that he is twice her age, that there is no love between them. Their marriage is an opportunity for her entire close-knit family to eventually immigrate. So on New Year’s Day, 1965, Ana leaves behind everything she knows and becomes Ana Ruiz, a wife confined to a cold six-floor walk-up in Washington Heights. Lonely and miserable, Ana hatches a reckless plan to escape. But at the bus terminal, she is stopped by Cesar, Juan’s free-spirited younger brother, who convinces her to stay.

As the Dominican Republic slides into political turmoil, Juan returns to protect his family’s assets, leaving Cesar to take care of Ana. Suddenly, Ana is free to take English lessons at a local church, lie on the beach at Coney Island, see a movie at Radio City Music Hall, go dancing with Cesar, and imagine the possibility of a different kind of life in America. When Juan returns, Ana must decide once again between her heart and her duty to her family.

This event is free and open for all to attend!

Earlier Event: September 27
Foreign + Domestic: A Policy Book Club
Later Event: October 1
Gary Barker: The Museum of Lost Love