Back to All Events

Lit on H Street with Angie Kim: Miracle Creek

In Conversation with Jamise Harper and Lupita Aquino

Screen Shot 2019-03-29 at 5.52.08 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-29 at 5.58.31 PM.png

Join us for a special edition of  Lit on H St Book Club featuring Angie Kim!  She'll be discussing her novel Miracle Creek with book club leaders  Spines & Vines (Jamise Harper) and Lupita Reads (Lupita Aquino). The book is 10% off in our store in May.

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we’ll go to protect our families—and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine—a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic “dives” with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos’ small community. 

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night—trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges—as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author’s own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life “submarine” patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

Angie Kim moved as a preteen from Seoul, South Korea, to the suburbs of Baltimore. She attended Stanford University and Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review, then practiced as a trial lawyer at Williams & Connolly. Her stories have won the Glamour Essay Contest and the Wabash Prize in Fiction, and appeared in numerous publications including The New York TimesSalonSlateThe Southern ReviewSycamore ReviewThe Asian American Literary Review, and PANK. Kim lives in northern Virginia with her husband and three sons.

600 H St NE, Washington, DC 20002

This event is FREE and open to all.  Let us know you're coming on Facebook. 

Earlier Event: June 19
Regina Porter: The Travelers
Later Event: July 11
Andrew Shaffer: Hope Rides Again